Mayor & Town Council

The five types of local government (Borough, City, Town, Township and Village) usually dictate how the governing body of a municipality is formed.  Boonton is designated as a Town and is therefore governed by a Mayor and Town Council.  The Town is divided geographically into four wards with two Council Members elected per ward.  Each ward contains two districts, hence two Council Members.  The Mayor serves a 4-year term and is elected by residents from all four wards. Council Members serve a 2-year term and are elected by the residents of their specific ward. Therefore, the governing body is a nine member board that includes the Mayor and eight Council Members (two per ward).  This will be important to know should you need to contact your Council Member (or the Mayor) with any issues you would like to address. To find out which Ward you live in and who your Council Members are, use the map and the contact information found on this page.

A meeting schedule and list of governing body members can be found below with contact information on the right.  All meetings and events happening in Boonton can also be found on the Town Calendar.

Richard Corcoran, Mayor

Mayor Corcoran

Cy Wekilsky, Council President, Ward 1

Cy Wekilsky

John Meehan, Council Member Ward 1

John Meehan head shot

Jacob Hettrich, Council Member Ward 2

Hettrich head shot

Marie Devenezia, Council Member Ward 2

Alderwoman Marie Devenezia Head Shot

Daniel Balan, Council Member Ward 3

Balan Headshot Web

Elliott Ruga, Council Member Ward 3

elliott ruga

Mike Wade, Council Member Ward 4

Alderman Wade Very Cropped Photo

Ben Weisman, Council Member Ward 4


Regular session meetings begin at 7:00 pm on the 1st & 3rd Mondays (except for holidays in which case the meeting will be moved to Tuesday).  

All meetings are held within Council Chambers at Town Hall and via Zoom (the link for each meeting can be found here and in each Agenda) unless otherwise noted.

2023 Meeting Dates are as follows:

Regular Session Meetings (start time 7 pm)

Zoom Link:

  • January 1st (1:00pm),              January 17th (Tuesday)
  • February 6th,                          February 21st(Tuesday)
  • March 6th, March 20th
  • April 3rd, April 17th
  • May 1st, May 15th
  • June 5th, June 19th
  • July 17th
  • August 14th
  • September 5th (Tuesday),  September 18th
  • October 2nd, October 16th
  • November 6th, November 20th
  • December 4th, December 18th

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

CLICK HERE to View Agendas & Minutes

Zoom Link:

Town Council Committees & Meetings

Finance & Personnel 

Council Members: Balan, Chairperson, DeVenezia, Meehan, Weisman

Meetings: Every second and fourth Monday of the month at 8:00 am

Zoom Link:


Council Members: Wekilsky, Chairperson, DeVenezia, Wade, Weisman

Meetings: Every third Monday of the month at 8:30 am

Zoom Link:

Public Works

Council Members: Balan, Chairperson, Hettrich, Meehan, Ruga

Meetings: Every second Monday of the month at 4:30 pm

Zoom Link:

  1. Physical Address
    100 Washington Street
    Boonton, NJ 07005