Planning Board

The Planning Board is an eleven member Board (includes two alternate members) who are responsible for generating and updating Boonton’s Master Plan. The Master Plan is a comprehensive plan intended to guide and control the current and long-range development and land use within the Town.

Planning Board approval is required prior to the subdivision of land within the Town of Boonton as well as for any development involving any new building other than one or two-family dwellings, any new addition to an existing building other than one or two-family dwellings, any change in use of an existing building, any new off-street parking area and any land disturbance involving an area of 1,000 square feet or more, including excavation, soil removal, land filling or site clearance.

Since the Boonton Planning Board serves as a combined Planning and Zoning Board of Adjustment pursuant to N.J.S.A. 40:55D-25c., application must also be made to the Planning Board for relief from the strict application of the zoning and land use ordinances of the Town as well as appeals from the decision of the Town’s Zoning Officer.

For information regarding Planning Board matters, contact Marianne Marcello at 973-402-9410 Ext. 630 or via email: The Zoning Officer can be reached at 973-402-9410 Ext. 630 or via email:

Planning Board meetings are normally held on the second Wednesday of each month at 7:30PM in the courtroom at the Town Hall.


Douglas Phelps, Chairman

Bruce MacNeal, Vice Chairman

Taj Khokhar

Scott Looker

Richard Orlusky

Jason Reineck

Adam Brewer

Matthew DiLauri, Mayor

James Lynch, Alderman

Jack Venturini (Alternate)

Ashley Henschel (Alternate)

Marianne Marcello, Secretary

Kurt Senesky (Schenck, Price, Smith & King), Board Attorney

Daren Phil (Suburban Consulting Engineers), Town/Board Engineer 

Jeffrey Janota (H2M Associates, Inc.), Town/Board Planner

Master Plan

Anthony Pisano,
May 21, 2017, 7:54 AM
Anthony Pisano,
Jan 10, 2014, 4:18 PM